Contact Us Online

Social Media Karp Law Blog Twitter Facebook

March 1 deadline to file for homestead exemption

If you purchased a home in Florida as your permanent residence in 2015 and occupied it before the end of the year, you may be eligible for the Florida homestead exemption. The deadline to file is March 1. The standard homestead exemption knocks up to $50,000 off the assessed value of your property. You must be a permanent Florida resident.
 
There are additional property exemptions that may be available to you, too. Among them:
  • If you have built a "granny flat" on your property as a home for parents or grandparents age 62 or older.
  • If you are a homeowner age 65 or over whose income falls below a certain level.
  • If you are confined to a wheelchair and are permanently and totally disabled, the property may be entirely exempt from ad valorem taxes.
  • If you are a veteran, you may also be eligible for certain property tax breaks. For example, the homestead of a veteran who is totally and permanently disabled as a result of military service may be entirely exempt from ad valorem taxes. Veterans with a 10% or more service-connected disability may qualify for a $5,000 exemption.
  • If you are a widow or widower, you may apply for an additional $500 exemption.
Please refer to your local Property Appraiser's Office for detailed information on these exemptions. A list of local property appraisers offices by Florida county may be found here.

Back to Elder Law Legal Updates